Tags

, ,

I remember when I was younger and going to various parties and celebrations, there was often someone who brought Deviled Eggs to share.  As a little kid, I was an extremely picky eater.  I’m still a bit picky, but it was so much worse when I was younger.  Deviled Eggs were just not something that ever appealed to me.  As I grew up and was spending more and more time with my immediate Italian family members, we didn’t really do the “Deviled Egg” dish.  While it was popular among friends and other party hosts, it just wasn’t common in my Italian family.

When I met my husband’s family, I learned that Deviled Eggs were a favorite of his family – especially my father-in-law.  We were hosting a family celebration at our house and I was trying to come up with some appetizers to snack on before dinner that evening.  I thought I’d give Deviled Eggs a try.  I had actually never made them before and I was hoping the family would enjoy them.  Well, they turned out fabulous.  In fact, once I served them – I blinked and they were gone!  Apparently, my version was a huge hit and they have been a demand at EVERY family and/or friend get-together.

With the summer upon us and the Memorial Day holiday today, it’s the perfect recipe to start off my blog.  So, follow the recipe below and whip up a delicious batch of Deviled Eggs and be the star of your summer barbecue!

Christine’s Deviled Eggs

12 hard boiled eggs
1/2 Tbsp. Grey Poupon Dijon Mustard
1/3 cup Mayonnaise
1/8 tsp. Salt
1/4 tsp. Black Pepper
1/2 tsp. Onion Powder
1/2 tsp. Garlic Powder
1/2 tsp. Dill Weed
1/4 tsp. Paprika, plus extra for garnish

1)  Cut the hard-boile eggs in half length-wise.  Remove the yolks placing them in a separate bowl.
2)  Set aside the hollowed egg whites.
3)  Once all of the yolks are removed, mash together well with a fork getting it as smooth as possible.
4)  Add Dijon mustard and mayonnaise, adding more or less to achieve desired taste and consistency.  It should be creamy and as smooth as possible.
5)  Season with salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, dill, and paprika.  Combine well, adding more or less to achieve desired taste.
6)  Place egg yolk mixture into a sealable plastic bag (Ziploc works well).  Cut a small piece of the corner off and fill the hollowed egg whites with the yolk mixture.  Sprinkle with paprika on top.
*The recipe can easily be doubled.

