Tags

, , ,

I am always keeping myself busy with one thing or another.  Whether it’s working full-time, working on my bakery, creating new recipes, volunteering at our parish, etc, etc, etc.  You get the point!  So, I try to find dishes that are relatively easy to prepare or those “one pot meals.”

I also like trying to keep our meals as healthy as possible.  I’ve battled with being overweight pretty much all of my life.  My husband is also overweight and he was diagnosed with diabetes a couple of years ago.  So, I really make an effort to do everything I can to keep our meals healthy.  I use whole wheat/whole grains – no more of the white stuff and I cook with lots of veggies, lean meats, and fish.  With exercise and healthier eating, I’ve lost 49 lbs. so far!  I still have quite a bit to go, but its a great start and I feel so much better!

So, with cooking healthy and easy meals – I happened to stumble across this recipe and decided to give it a try.  While it calls for Orzo pasta – I use whole wheat orzo and I make it in a risotto style instead of just cooking the pasta in boiling water.  By adding chicken stock to the raw pasta, the pasta absorbs the flavorful liquid and makes it taste so much better and cooks it at the same time!!  I hope you and your family enjoy it!!

ABC Orzo

4 pieces, boneless, skinless chicken breast cut into 1″ cubes
Olive Oil, as needed
1 onion, finely chopped
1 tsp. garlic, finely chopped
1 pkg. fresh sliced mushrooms
1 cup raw orzo pasta
1/2 cup dry white wine
1 3/4 cup chicken stock
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. black pepper
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
1/4 tsp. onion powder
1 can (10 oz.) quartered artichokes, drained
1/2 bag fresh leaf spinach (about 5-6 oz.)
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1)  Saute garlic and onions in olive oil over medium heat, until onions are translucent.
2)  Add mushrooms and saute’ about 3-4 minutes.
3)  Add dried pasta and “toast” for about 2-3 minutes stirring constantly so the pasta gets toasted, but does not burn.
4)  Add white wine and chicken stock.  Stir frequently, allowing the pasta to absorb the liquid.  Cook about 4-5 minutes.  If the pasta absorbs all of the liquid and it is still hard and chewy, add another 1/2 cup of chicken stock.
5)  Add chicken and cook through.
6)  Add artichokes, spinach, and balsamic vinegar and stir together combining well.
7)  Serve immediately.

Adapted from allrecipes.com

