My husband LOVES mushrooms.  Sometimes I think it’s the only true vegetable he’ll eat.  My meat and potatoes man is very picky when it comes to veggies which makes cooking dinner a little challenging because I love vegetables.  Of course the ones I love (broccoli, asparagus, artichokes to name a few), he doesn’t.  So, we compromise which usually means I either have green beans (again) or I make them just for me!  So, I try to find dishes that incorporate mushrooms when I can.

I remember when we were dating, I was at his house and I was cooking dinner, which turned into cooking dinner for his family!  Yup, his entire family was there – his parents, his sister, Michelle, and her kids, Robert, Courtney, and Brittney.  I was making this dish and found out as I was preparing it that it was my Rob’s favorite as well as his sister’s.   I was a little apprehensive about it with the kids, but they devoured it and was looking for seconds!  It was a keeper for sure after that and my husband loves it every time I make it.  I’ve made some adjustments to keep it healthy which I’ve noted.  Either way you make it – it’s delicious and I hope you’ll enjoy it too!

Chicken Marsala

1/2 cup all purpose flour (for a healthier option, use whole wheat flour)
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. black pepper
1/2 tsp. dried oregano
1/2 tsp. granulated onion powder
1/2 tsp. granualted garlic powder
4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts
4 Tbsp. butter (for a healthier option, I eliminate this and use more olive oil)
4 Tbsp. olive oil (for a healthier option, I use a little more olive oil and no butter)
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1 tsp. garlic, minced
2 cups sliced mushrooms
1/2 cup marsala wine
1/4 cup cooking sherry
Salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder to season/taste

1)  In a shallow bowl, mix flour, salt, pepper, oregano, onion powder, and garlic powder.  Mix with a fork to combine the herbs.  Coat the chicken breasts with the flour mixture.
2)  In a large skillet, melt the butter and olive over medium heat.
3)  Place the chicken in the pan and sear on both sides for about 2 minutes each side.  Remove from the pan and set aside.  In the remaining oil, add onions and garlic.  Saute’ about 3-4 minutes until onions are soft.  Add the mushrooms and cook about 5-6 minutes.  Season with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder.
4)  Add the marsala wine and cooking sherry.  Stir to incorporate.
5)  Add chicken back to pan and simmer over medium heat until chicken is cooked thoroughly.
6)  If sauce is too thin, add a little bit of flour.  If it is too thick, add a little chicken stock.

Adapted from allrecipes.com

