Tags

, , ,

My mom was never big on cooking.  Her idea of dinner was reservations (love ya ma!).  My dad would cook on occasion and we would jokingly call it “Dad’s Slop” or “Dad’s Mystery Slop.”  It seemed no matter what ingredients he used, the dishes he created would all look and taste the same.  Breakfast usually consisted of cereal or pop-tarts during the week and if we were lucky maybe some scrambled eggs on the weekends.  Eggs Benedict was one of those dishes reserved for fine dining establishments, not something we ever cooked at home.  Even those occasional times we would go out for breakfast, Eggs Benedict was something nobody in my family ever ordered, so it was never something I ever considered trying.  I was also never a fan of eggs prepared any other way but scrambled.  Yolks – ewwww.  Then I grew up!

While I was attending culinary school, we were required to learn how to make Hollandaise sauce.  It was a lot of work, but so delicious.  Once our sauce was made, we learned how to poach eggs and prepared Eggs Benedict.  It was not exactly what I expected, but it was prepared by culinary school students – you can’t expect it to be perfect!  In going out to breakfast with some friends, I ordered Eggs Benedict and absolutely loved it!

My husband had never had Eggs Benedict before.  We went out to breakfast one morning and I ordered EB and insisted he give it a try.  You can imagine what happened next.  Yup, he loved it!

So, I was trying to recreate a Hollandaise sauce at home that was healthy.  Not exactly an easy task.  So, I’m not afraid to admit it, but I cheat!  My recipe for Eggs Benedict below has a Hollandaise sauce that is made from a packet by Knorr.   I’m able to use low-fat milk and I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter spread to keep it lighter, low-fat, and healthier.  (And it’s a lot less work!)

Eggs Benedict

2 English Muffins, toasted
2 slices, Canadian Bacon (for a healthier option, you can use low-fat sliced ham)
4 eggs
1/2 tsp. white vinegar
Hollandaise Sauce

1)  Toast English Muffins, as desired
2)  To poach eggs, bring water and vinegar in a medium saucepan to a boil and then reduce heat to a simmer.   Crack egg (one at a time) into a small bowl and then gently drop the egg into the simmering water.  Cook for 2 – 2 1/2 minutes.  Cook each egg individually or if your saucepan allows, cook 2 at a time.

3)  Remove from water with a slotted spoon draining as much water as possible and place poached egg onto a paper towel to finish draining.

4)  Place one slice of Canadian Bacon or Ham onto each English Muffin.
5)  Place one poached egg on top of the Canadian Bacon and then top with Hollandaise Sauce.
6)  Sprinkle with parsley if desired.

Hollandaise Sauce

1 packet Knorr Hollandaise Sauce Mix
1 cup low-fat milk (I use 1%)
1/4 cup (4 Tbsp.) I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Light spread
1 tsp. dried parsley

1)  In a medium saucepan, add the milk and the packet of Hollandaise Sauce and mix well together.
2)  Add the I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Light spread and bring to a boil whisking frequently to ensure it doesn’t boil over.
3)  As soon as it comes to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer for a few minutes until nicely thickened.
4)  Add the parsley and mix well.
5)  Pour over poached eggs/English Muffins for Eggs Benedict.

Enjoy!!

