Tags

,

The past week has been a busy on for me despite not working.  I’m starting a new job on Monday and perhaps its knowing that I’ll be back to work full-time that I was trying to get a bunch of things done.  Today quickly turned into a lazy day – and I like these every once in a while.  So, with nothing to do and being well rested – I decided to bake!  Rob watched the NASCAR race and I decided to make some banana bread since I had plenty of ripe bananas that would be perfect for it!

I had tried a number of banana bread recipes and this one is one of my favorites.  It bakes up really nice!   As usual, I made some changes to make it more my own and actually needed to make a major change to it today.  As I’m preparing and measuring my ingredients, I realize I have no vegetable oil.  Of course, the recipe calls for vegetable oil.  Great – now what am I going to do!  I really didn’t feel like going out to the store so I decided to replace the vegetable oil with mayonnaise.  I know, I know you’re probably thinking I’m crazy.  But, believe it or not, it works really well in baking and it worked perfectly in my banana bread recipe.  So, I’m making it a permanent change!  The bread stayed moist and you can’t taste the mayo at all!  Rob loved it!

I really like the consistency of the bread.  It’s got a nice crust, not too crispy though; it’s very moist throughout; the pecans give it some great texture; and the chocolate chips and bananas add a delicious sweetness to the bread.  I hope you enjoy it!!

Banana Bread

2 eggs, beaten
1/3 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1 cup mashed bananas (I use about 3-4 bananas)
1 1/2 cups white sugar
1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 cup chopped pecans (optional)
1/3 cup mini chocolate chips (optional)

1)  Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  Spray one 9 x 5 inch loaf pan with non-stick spray coating.
2)  Blend together the eggs, buttermilk, mayonnaise, and bananas.
3)  Sift together the sugar, flour, baking soda, and salt.  Add to banana mixture.  Add pecans and chocolate chips.  Mix well.
4)  Pour into prepared loaf pan and bake 1 hour, 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Adapted from allrecipes.com

