Tags

, , ,

I love the Summer!  Light, fresh, crisp fruits and vegetables and lots of delicious cold salads!  One of my favorites is my Tomato and Cucumber Salad.  With the perfect amount of seasoning and a light drizzle of olive oil and rice vinegar, it’s a deliciously refreshing dish on a hot Summer day!

I love the combination of crisp cucumbers and sweet tomatoes!  It reminds me a lot of side dishes and summer salads my grandmother used to make when I was growing up.  She would put together different combinations and make delicious salads.  Another one of my favorites was her chilled potato and green bean salad.  Sounds odd, I know, but it is really delicious.   They will be forthcoming in my blog – don’t worry!

So, enjoy this delicious and refreshing chilled summer salad.  I’m sure it will be a hit at any gathering!

Tomato and Cucumber Salad

2 large cucumbers, peeled, seeded, and cut into bite sized pieces
12 Roma tomatoes, seeded, and cut into bite sized pieces
1 tsp. crushed garlic
1/2 tsp. dried Oregano
4 Tbsp. olive oil
1/4 cup rice vinegar
Salt and Black Pepper, to taste

1)  In a large bowl, combine the cut cucumbers and tomatoes.
2)  Add the crushed garlic and oregano.
3)  Drizzle with olive oil and rice vinegar.  Mix well.
4)  Chill for 2 hours to let flavors develop.
5)  Season with salt and pepper before serving.*
*I season with salt and pepper just before serving because salt will draw out the water in cucumbers and tomatoes.  It helps prevent the salad from becoming too watery.

