Tags

, , , , ,

As I’ve mentioned many times before, I grew up in an Italian family in New York.  My mom never made Greek food when I was growing up and the only time I was ever introduced to it was at the locatl Diner, owned by a Greek family, where you could get just about anything!  Their souvlaki and gyros were really good.  But, we would only have Greek food out – my mom never had the desire to learn how to make it at home.  My mom also had a number of allergies so she was reluctant, more often than not, to try something new.

I love garlic and lemon.  I stumbled across a great Greek chicken souvlaki recipe many moons ago and I’ve used the basic seasoning in a variety of items.  I use it to season my veggies for grilled veggies and as a great marinade for chicken – even if I’m not making it souvlaki.  (Not to worry – I’ll be posting that recipe down the road!)

I really like the chicken mustard burger I posted a little while back.  It really gave me a canvas to create something new.  Using ground chicken and the seasonings from my Greek Chicken Souvlaki, I’ve created a new Greek Chicken Burger!  Another way to satisfy my husband’s burger cravings with something healthy!

So here’s my recipe.  I hope you’ll all enjoy it!

Greek Chicken Burgers

1 lb. ground chicken
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1 tsp. garlic, crushed
1 lemon, zested and juiced
1 tsp. dried oregano
1/2 cup Panko (Japanese style) bread crumbs
1/4 cup Feta cheese
Olive oil as needed for pan frying

1)  In a large bowl combine ground chicken, onion, garlic, lemon zest and juice, oregano, bread crumbs, and Feta cheese.  Mix well.
2)  Form into four (4) patties.  Refrigerate until ready to fry.
3)  Pour some olive oil (about 2 Tbsp) into a large skillet and heat oil.  Add chicken patties and cook about 4 minutes on each side or until juices run clear (using a kitchen thermometer, the internal temperature should be 160 degrees F).
4)  Serve with Tzatziki sauce (below) on whole wheat buns (for a healthy alternative)

Tzatziki Sauce

2 cucumbers, peeled, seeded, and shredded
8 oz. plain Greek yogurt
1 lemon, zested and juiced
1 1/2 tsp. garlic, crushed
2 Tbsp. olive oil
1 tsp. dill weed
Salt and pepper to taste

1)  Place the shredded cucumber in a strainer lined with a cheese cloth or thin flour sack.  Salt the cucumber and toss lightly.  Let it sit about 30 minutes.  The salt will draw the water out of the cucumbers.  Squeeze well to get as much water out as possible.  Discard the cucumber water.


2)  In a medium size bowl, combine the yogurt, lemon zest and lemon juice, garlic, olive oil, and dill.  Add the shredded cucumbers.  Mix well.  Season with salt and pepper.

