Tags

, , , ,

I’ve mentioned before how my mom never really liked to cook.  She didn’t.  She would definitely prefer to go out for dinner than make it, but she did cook on occasion and some of the dishes she made were really good!

I remember growing up, one dish she made was boneless pork chops with roasted red peppers.  I always liked the flavor of the peppers with the pork, but as a kid I would never eat the peppers.  There’s my “picky-ness” again!  But, as I got older I grew to love peppers, especially the delicious sweetness of roasted red peppers.

I decided to take my mom’s pork chop recipe and tweak it just a bit.  I thought it would be neat to make a stuffed pork loin with roasted red peppers.  I made it last night and Rob loved it.

I was hoping to open it enough to be able to roll it, but I obviously still need some practice butterflying the meat.  I opened it enough to be able to get the mixture in it and for now that’s what mattered!!

Pork Roast Stuffed with Roasted Red Peppers and Garlic

1 pork roast (about 2-3 lbs.)
1 jar roasted red peppers, finely diced, liquid reserved
1 Tbsp. garlic, crushed
Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, to taste

1)  Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F.
2)  In a small bowl, combine the peppers and garlic.  Season with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder.  Mix well.
3)  Butterfly the pork loin (as best you can – it takes practice!!)
4)  Season both sides with salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder.
5)  Place the garlic-pepper mixture in the center of the pork roast and gently roll/fold the pork.  (If you need to, tie the pork roast with butcher twine to hold it together.)
6)  In a 9 x 13 glass baking dish, pour the liquid from the roasted red peppers in the bottom.  Place the stuffed pork roast into the baking dish.
7)  Cover with foil and bake until the internal temperature of the meat (not the mixture) is 145 degrees F.  (Cook about 20 minutes per pound.)

