Tags

, , , ,

Rob and I love spicy foods and I’m always looking for something different to make instead of the same old, same old – cayenne, chipotle, jalapenos, etc.  One thing I’m getting more and more comfortable with is pairing sweet and spicy together.

About a year ago we were celebrating the upcoming wedding of my good friend Darci.  She had her Bachelorette Party at her home with a bunch of friends and the girls all had a great time.  She had an awesome spread of food and one of the delicious dishes she made was Spicy Peach Hot Wings from a recipe by Pat & Gina Neely.  It was so good!

I had looked up the recipe and really wanted to try it again.  In reading the recipe it called for butter and for the wings to be fried.  I like to try to keep things healthy and I didn’t want to fry the wings.  So I decided to give it a try with boneless chicken breast and roasting it in the oven.

It turned out surprisingly well even with the boneless chicken breasts.  The sweetness of the peach preserves pairs nicely with the perfect amount of heat.  It’s a way to obtain the full flavor of the original recipe with keeping it healthy too!  The original recipe calls for 1/4 cup of Tabasco which yields a VERY hot and spicy sauce.  I’ve cut back the amount of Tabasco for the recipe below, but feel free to adjust the amount to your preference.

Enjoy!

Spicy Peach Chicken

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (okay – I only had three left! LOL)
1/2 cup peach preserves
2 Tbsp. Tabasco sauce (use more or less to your preference)
1 Tbsp. soy sauce
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1/2 stick butter (to keep it healthier, I use I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter spread)
Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder, and Onion Powder to taste

1)  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2)  In a saucepan, combine the butter, garlic, peach preserves, Tabasco, and soy sauce.  Whisk together and allow to heat through.
3)  Season chicken breasts with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder.
4)  Place chicken in oven safe baking dish and pour the peach sauce over the chicken.
5)  Cover with aluminum foil and bake about 20 minutes or until chicken is cooked through.

Recipe adapted from Pat & Gina Neely’s Spicy Peach Hot Wings

