Tags

, , , ,

I’ve never been a big fan of almonds.  In fact, I’ve never really liked anything of the sort – peanuts, cashews, walnuts, pecans, etc. – you get the picture.  I don’t hate them, but I don’t love them either.  I do love the flavor of hazelnuts, but that’s about it and I much prefer the flavor over the actual nut.  But, I digress.

I do love cinnamon and sugar and when I came across this recipe for Cinnamon Roasted Almonds, I had to give it a try.  Rob loves almonds so it was something a little different for him as well.  The first time I made it, I found it to be a little bland.  I decided to make my own version and my family and I really enjoy these for a snack!  They are great as a snack with a sandwich for lunch or perfect on their own in the mid-afternoon!  They are also great for parties.  Put it out as an appetizer along with some other finger foods or include it as part of your dessert spread!

You can adjust all of the seasonings to your liking!  I hope you’ll give this delicious sweet recipe a try!

Cinnamon Roasted Almonds

1 egg white
1 tsp. cold water
4 cups whole almonds
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. cocoa powder
1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper (use more or less to taste)
1/8 tsp. chipotle chili powder (use more or less to taste)

1)  Preheat oven to 250 degrees F.  Lightly grease a large cookie sheet.
2)  Lightly beat egg white and water until frothy but not stiff.  Add nuts and stir well to coat completely.
3)  Mix sugar, salt, cinnamon, cocoa, cayenne, and chipotle in a separate bowl until well combined.
4)  Sprinkle over nuts and mix well to coat.
5)  Spread evenly on cookie sheet.  Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
6)  Turn oven off and leave in the hot oven for 2 more hours.  Store in an airtight container or resealable plastic bag.

