Tags

, , , ,

I love chips and dip!  It’s such a great party addition and there are so many options!!!  Hot, cold, spicy, thick, creamy, chunky, etc.  The list goes on!!!  I enjoy hot dips such as spinach-artichoke dip, but it’s not something that easily stays out over time.  In a relatively short amount of time it will begin to get cold and the cheese hardens making it difficult to dip your chip!!  My solution – a crock pot!  It makes keeping hot appetizers warm for long periods of time!!!

I love spinach-artichoke dip, but my husband despises all things artichoke.  He just doesn’t like it!  What he does love is Southwestern flavors so I did some digging and found a chili con queso recipe that looked pretty good and then I made some changes to make it more my own.  The end result is a creamy, spicy, meaty and super delicious dip that is a sure-fire hit at every one of our parties!!

Chili Con Queso

1 32 oz. pkg. Velveeta Cheese Block
1 onion, finely chopped
1 lb. ground beef
2 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. Tabasco sauce
Salt, Pepper, Onion Powder, and Garlic Powder to taste
1 16 oz. container sour cream
1 15 oz. jar salsa

1)  Cube Velveeta and place in slow cooker/crock pot.  Allow the cheese to melt.
2)  Saute the onions until soft.  Add the ground beef, chili powder, and Tabasco.
3)  Season with salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder.  Cook meat thoroughly.
4)  Once the cheese is melted in the crock pot, add the cooked ground beef mixture.
5)  Add sour cream and salsa and mix well.  Keep on warm to keep cheese melted.
6)  Serve with tortilla chips.

For some healthy alternatives (well, as healthy as you can get with this recipe!), I suggest using Velveeta 2% cheese block and 93/7 extra lean ground beef.

Recipe adapted from Allrecipes.com

