Tags

,

I decided to try something different tonight.  I made fish instead of chicken or beef.  Not that that’s a big deal – I’ve done it before, but usually there is a salsa or sauce or marinade that it’s cooked in leaving lots of juice!!  I didn’t do that this time!

I decided to make tilapia in an oreganata style.  It’s most commonly done with clams, but since my hubby is allergic to shellfish I tried it with tilapia instead.  Rob loved it and devoured his fish – plus the one extra I made and told me this recipe was a keeper!

I really enjoyed it.  I love the crispy crust of the bread crumbs combined with the tang of lemon, white wine, and garlic.  Along with some oregano – it’s a Mediterranean delight!!

Tilapia Oreganata

4 Tilapia filets
1/4 cup dry white wine
1 Tbsp. lemon juice
Salt, Pepper, Onion Powder, Garlic Powder to season
1/2 cup Panko (Japanese style) bread crumbs
1/2 tsp. crushed garlic
1/8 tsp. Onion Powder
1/8 tsp. Garlic Powder
1/8 tsp. Dried Oregano

1)  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2)  Season the Tilapia on both sides with salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder.
3)  Pour the white wine and lemon juice into the bottom of a baking dish.  Lay the Tilapia in the liquid.  Cover and bake 12-15 minutes until fish is nearly cooked.
4)  While fish is cooking, in a separate bowl combine the Panko breadcrumbs, crushed garlic, onion powder, garlic powder, and dried oregano.  Mix well.
5)  Remove the fish from the oven and uncover.  Turn the oven to broil.
6)  Drain some of the excess liquid.
7)  Top the tilapia with the bread crumb mixture.
8)  Return fish to oven and broil until the bread crumb mixture is golden browned.

