Tags

, ,

I’m back!!  Yup – I’ve been super busy and enjoyed a wonderful Family Camping Trip to Bryce Canyon over Labor Day weekend, but I’m back and making lots of delicious new goodies!!

We recently celebrated my sister-in-law Michelle’s birthday and trying to coordinate our family get together proved to be a little bit challenging.  So, working around everyone’s schedule, it seemed the easiest thing to do was brunch!  I tend to make the usual – biscuits & gravy, French Toast, sausage, bacon, etc.  I was looking to make something different this time around.  I love granola and had been wanting to try some homemade.  I happened to be watching the Cooking Channel and one of my favorite Chefs – Michael Symon.  He and his wife, Lizzie, were making her granola recipe.  I decided to give it a try and it turned out great.  I added a couple of ingredients and adjusted some others to make it more my own and to my taste preference.  I think you’ll like it!!  It’s super easy to make and the ingredients give it a wonderful crunch and sweetness without being overly sweet.  You can adjust the dried fruit as well.  If you prefer to use other types of dried fruit – feel free!  You can add more, change it out, or use none at all!  Whatever your preference!  I liked adding the tart dried cranberries and sour dried cherries because I thought they helped balance out the sweetness of the granola.

It’s great on its own as a little snack, as a topping for yogurt or ice cream, or even over French Toast or Waffles!  No matter what you decide to use it for, make lots and keep it on hand.  Once you try it – you’ll always want to have it around!!

Homemade Granola

4 cups rolled oats
1 cup shredded coconut
2 cups sliced almonds
1 cup chopped pecans
3/4 cup olive oil
1/2 cup honey
2 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. nutmeg
1 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup dried cherries

1)  Preheat 325 degrees F.
2)  Combine all ingredients together (except dried fruit) in a large bowl and mix together until well coated.
3)  Lightly coat a baking sheet with cooking spray and evenly spread the granola mixture onto the baking sheet.
4)  Bake for 30 minutes.
5)  Let cool.  Add dried fruit.  Mix well.
6)  Store in an air-tight container.

Adapted from Michael & Lizzie Symon.

