Tags

, , ,

I’ve never really been a fan of breakfast.  For me it was the most boring meal of the day and there was not very much that excited me.  I did, however, love muffins!  Blueberry and chocolate chip were my two favorites.  Everyone knows about the other usual flavors – corn, banana nut, and bran.  Beyond that I don’t know of any others that are common.  As much as I loved blueberry and chocolate chip, they got old after a while and the others were just boring!

I have an obsession with cookbooks!  I started collecting them years ago and I loved a particular series from Williams-Sonoma.  One of the themes was “Muffins.”  There were lots of great recipes in it, but one in particular sounded sooooooo good!!!  It was a Cinnamon Buttermilk Muffin that I absolutely had to try.

The first time I made them, I followed the recipe exactly with the cinnamon topping recipe it came with, and frankly I just didn’t like it.  So, the cookbook went back on the shelf and no more Cinnamon muffins.  While I was in culinary school we were required to have a particular baking book for one of my classes.  In it was one of the most incredible recipes for cinnamon streusel.  It’s a great topping for coffee cake and cobblers and I thought how perfect it would be on top of those Cinnamon Buttermilk Muffins!!!  I gave it a try and OMG – it was incredible!!  Another keeper!!

I made them for a family brunch and everyone loved them.  In fact, they have become my sister-in-law’s favorite!  They are a staple at all of our family brunches now and I always make extra for leftovers during the week!  We celebrated my sister-in-law’s birthday the Sunday before Labor Day weekend with a family brunch and I made a bunch of these muffins.  I made extra so we could take them on our family camping trip that weekend.  They never made it camping!  They were gone before the weekend!!

These muffins are definitely a refreshing change from the same old, same old.  It’s like eating a muffin and a coffee/crumb cake at the same time!  YUM!!

Cinnamon Struesel Muffins

1 Stick Butter, softened
2/3 cup Granulated Sugar
1 Egg
1/2 cup Buttermilk
1 1/2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
1 1/2 cups All Purpose Flour
1 1/2 tsp. Baking Powder
1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
1/2 tsp. Salt
1/4 tsp. Freshly Ground Nutmeg
1/2 tsp. Ground Cinnamon
Cinnamon Streusel Topping (recipe below)

1)  Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F.  Lightly spray a standard 12 cup muffin tin with cooking spray.
2)  Combine the butter and sugar in a bowl and beat on medium speed until light and fluffy.  Add the egg and beat well unti pale and smooth.  About 3-4 minutes.
3)  In a small bowl, combine the buttermilk and vanilla.
4)  In another bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, nutmeg, and cinnamon.  Add to the butter mixture in two additions alternating with the buttermilk mixture.  Stir until just evenly moistened.
5)  Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin tins, filling each 2/3 full.  Top each muffin with Cinnamon Streusel Topping (recipe follows).  Bake about 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Cinnamon Streusel Topping

4 Tbsp. Light Brown Sugar
4 Tbsp. Granulated Sugar
1/2 cup Butter, softened
1 tsp. Ground Cinnamon
1/2 tsp. Salt
1/2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
3/4 cup All Purpose Flour

1)  Combine sugars and butter until creamed.
2)  Add cinnamon, salt, and vanilla extract.  Combine well.
3)  Slowly add flour until mixture becomes crumbly.  Add more flour as needed to achieve desired consistency.

Recipes adapted from “On Baking” and The Advanced Professional Pastry Chef by Bo Friberg

