Tags

,

As we all know, Rob loves the flavors of the Southwest.  I don’t think I’ve cooked this much Mexican or Southwestern food in my entire life!!!  But – he loves it so I keep making it!!

We had gone camping a couple of weeks ago and I had some tortillas and shredded cheese leftover from the trip so I decided to use them up and make fajitas.  While I was making dinner, I was looking through my pantry for the fajita seasoning packet.  I could have sworn I had one!!  Well, turns out I didnt.  So, I just raided my cabinet o’ spices and made this recipe my own.  It may not be truly authentic, but it turned out pretty darn good and my hubby loved it!

You can substitute or add steak and/or shrimp and make it however you’d like.  Rob is allergic to shellfish so I steer clear of that and I try to keep things healthy which is why I did chicken.

So here’s a homemade fajita recipe that we enjoy and I hope you will too!!

Chicken Fajitas

1 onion, sliced
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, sliced into tenders or 1″ pieces
1 red pepper, seeded and sliced into thin strips
1 green pepper, seeded and sliced into thin strips
To season:  salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, chili powder, chipotle chili powder, cumin
Olive oil as needed
Tortillas (I use whole wheat tortillas to keep it healthy)
Sour Cream (I use Light Sour Cream – again trying to keep it healthy!)
Guacamole
Shredded Cheese (I recommended Kraft shredded Mexican blend)
Salsa

1)  In a large skillet, heat olive oil and add sliced onions.  Saute until translucent and tender.  Add the chicken and season with above seasonings as desired.  Cook about 4-6 minutes.
2)  Add the peppers and continue cooking until chicken is cooked through.  Add more seasoning if desired.
3)  Serve with tortillas, sour cream, guacamole, salsa, and shredded cheese.

