Tags

, ,

My husband loves mushrooms!   It’s about the only vegetable I can get him to eat without resistance!  I add it to a lot of dishes I make, but I don’t usually make them as a dish by themselves.  I had some extra mushrooms.  I had bought them to make a particular dish and I ended up never making it, but I didn’t want the mushrooms to go bad.  So, I looked around for some mushroom recipes and stumbled across one on allrecipes.com.  It called for cooking Sherry, which believe it or not, I actually didn’t have in the house!  I did, however, have a dessert Sherry from a local winery that Rob and I both enjoy.  I thought I’d give it a try – and the result was delicious!

The smokiness of the paprika along with the sweetness of the sherry was a spectacular combination!!  If you don’t have this, don’t worry – cooking sherry will work just fine!

Sherry-Paprika Mushrooms

1/2 tsp. chopped garlic
2 cups sliced fresh mushrooms
1 tsp. paprika
1/4 cup cooking sherry (or Pahrump Valley Winery Dessert Creme Sherry!)
Salt, Pepper, Onion Powder, Garlic Powder to season
2 Tbsp. olive oil

1)  Heat olive oil in a large skillet.  When the oil is heated, add the chopped garlic and gently cook until lightly browned.  About 1-2 minutes.
2)  Add the sliced mushrooms and cook about 3-4 minutes.  Season with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder.  Add paprika and sherry.
3)  Mix well and cook another 3-4 minutes.

Adapted from allrecipes.com

