Tags

My mom was not a big fan of cooking.  Actually I think she hated it.  She always used to say her idea of dinner was “reservations!!”  She did have a few dishes she would make regularly and chicken cutlets was one of them.  They were so good!!  They were great with potatoes and veggies for dinner; in a sandwich for lunch; or covered in tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese for an amazing chicken cutlet parmigiana!

I can’t remember the first time I made chicken cutlets for Rob.  What I do remember is my plan for leftovers with them during the week didn’t exist after Rob had them!  He absolutely loved them and the leftovers I had disappeared by lunchtime the next day!

OK, so now I know.  When I make chicken cutlets, I need to make more.  A LOT MORE!!  They are definitely a favorite in the family.  Our nieces and nephew love them as well.  They love it when I make chicken cutlets for dinner!

They are a bit of work and I find it is easier to make a large quantity at one time and freeze it.  I can freeze them in dinner serving sizes and be good to go!!  The recipe below can be adjusted for just about any quantity!  Enjoy!

Chicken Cutlets

4 boneless, skinless thin-cut chicken breasts
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup seasoned bread crumbs (I use Progresso Italian Style Bread Crumbs)
Vegetable Oil for frying
Electric Skillet

1)  Add vegetable oil to an electric skillet (about 1/4 – 1/2 inch deep) and heat to 350 degrees.
2)  In a separate bowl, lightly beat 2 eggs.  Set aside.
3)  Add bread crumbs to another bowl that is wide enough to be able to dredge the chicken.
4)  When the oil is heated to temperature, dip the chicken breast into the egg and then into the bread crumbs, coating thoroughly.
5)  Add coated chicken to the oil and fry on both sides until golden brown.  Remove from oil and rest on paper towels to absorb the excess oil.
6)  Serve immediately with ketchup or ranch dressing (or let cool and store in freezer safe Ziploc bags).

