Tags

, , , ,

I know the name sounds weird, but it is soooooooooo good!  Come on, do you really think I would post a recipe that isn’t good??!!

As we all know, I attended culinary school for baking and pastry.  As part of the curriculum, I was required to take some savory classes as well.  At first I was annoyed that I had to take them.  This wasn’t what I wanted to learn!  But, I’m glad that I had the experience and exposure of the savory side.  There were numerous tricks and recipes that I learned that have helped me greatly in what I cook today.

I rarely made soup from scratch.  I grew up on Campbell’s Chicken Noodle Soup when I was sick and when I got older, we moved onto Progresso.  My grandmother would make soup from scratch and occasionally we would have her Italian soup made with Acini de Pepe (they look like little round pearls of pasta).  She also made Lentil Soup, but truthfully I hated it.  I’m just not a fan of Lentils.  Sorry Grandma!

I digress.  While I was in culinary school we made a lot of chicken stock from scratch and a variety of soups.  One of them was this Dill Carrot Soup recipe.  I never thought I would like it, but when our group finished it and we tasted it, I was hooked!  With its amazing profile of flavors – this recipe is definitely a keeper!!

Last year we had Rob’s family over for dinner and it was a bit cold out.  I was just feeling like soup and I was craving the Dill Carrot Soup.  I decided to make some and I figured I would just freeze whatever was left.  Everyone gave it a try and absolutely loved it.  Even Rob’s nieces and nephew enjoyed it.  So, with our plans to have the family over for Halloween for trick or treating, I made a big batch of soup and froze it.  We’ll have soup and sandwiches and sit out in our driveway handing out lots of candy and seeing all the kids of the neighborhood in their cute and fun customes!  And with its orange coloring from the carrots, it’s fun for Halloween!

Whatever you decide to make this delicious soup for, I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as we do!

Dill Carrot Soup

1 Tbsp. butter
1/2 cup leeks, white part only, thinly sliced
2 cups carrots, peeled, 1/4″ dice
2 cups potatos, peeled, 1/4″ dice
2 cups chicken stock
3/4 tsp. fresh thyme, finely chopped
1 bay leaf
3/4 cup half and half, warmed (I use fat free half and half to keep it healthy)
1/4 tsp. grated nutmeg
1 Tbsp. lemon juice
Salt & pepper to taste
Tabasco sauce, to taste (about 2-3 shakes of the bottle)
1 Tbsp. fresh dill, chopped

1)  In a medium sized pot, heat the butter. Saute leeks, stirring occasionally until soft.
2)  Add carrots and potatoes and saute’ another 5-6 minutes.
3)  Add stock and bring to a simmer. Add thyme and bay leaf.  Simmer for 20-30 minutes or until carrots and potatoes are tender.
4)  Add tabasco, nutmeg, and season with salt & pepper.
5)  Remove bay leaf.
6)  Add warmed half and half, dill, and lemon juice.
7)  Puree vegetables and liquid in blender.  (I use a stick blender so I don’t have to take it out of the pot).
8)  Serve immediately or let cool and freeze.

Recipe from the International Culinary School at the Art Institute, Las Vegas, NV

