Tags

, ,

We never made stuffed peppers growing up in my family.  I can’t remember my mom or my grandmother – or anyone in my family for that matter – making them.  My parents had some friends that would invite them over for dinner once in a while and they’d make stuffed peppers, but it was something I never grew up with.  I’d see it on menus with a description that it was stuffed with rice and ground beef, but it just never appealed to me.

When I moved to Vegas, my Aunt made stuffed peppers and of course the first thing out of my mouth was “I don’t like them.”  She insisted I try her version.  I did and it was super.  She taught me how to make her version and I like it so much better than a mixture of rice and ground beef!  I’ve made some additions and tweaks here and there, as I usually do with just about every recipe.

My version (well – my Aunt’s version!), of stuffed peppers uses ground turkey, mushrooms, and tomato sauce, and no rice.  I added some more vegetables by including finely chopped onions and even finely chopped peppers.  It helps keep it moist and gives it some added sweetness.  While the mixture is stuffed into a green pepper, they really don’t have very much flavor.  Using red, orange, and yellow bell peppers really helps add a lot more flavor and sweetness to the dish.

It’s a nice warm meal on a cold night and I hope you’ll give it a try and enjoy it!

Stuffed Peppers

4 green bell peppers, cored, hollowed, and cleaned.
|1 lb. ground turkey
1 onion, finely chopped
1 cup mushrooms, finely chopped
1 red bell pepper, finely chopped
1 orange bell pepper, finely chopped
1 yellow bell pepper, finely chopped
1 cup tomato sauce, plus extra for serving
Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, dried Rosemary, dried Thyme, to season
Olive oil, as needed

1)  Heat olive oil in a large skillet.  Add the chopped onions and saute about 5-6 minutes.  Add the chopped mushrooms and cook another 3-4 minutes.
2)  Add the ground turkey and cook until turkey is cooked through.
3)  Season with salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, rosemary, and thyme.
4)  Add the bell peppers and tomato sauce.  Mix well and heat through.
5)  Fill the hollowed green bell peppers with the turkey mixture.  Spoon tomato sauce over filled peppers.  Cover with aluminum foil and bake for at least 1 hour at 350 degrees F or until the peppers are tender.
6)  Cut in half and add more tomato sauce if desired.

