Tags

, ,

As we all know, Thanskgiving is next Thursday and no Thanksgiving meal would be complete without some type of cranberry dish on the table!  I grew up with the traditional jellied cranberry in the can.  You know the one I’m talking about – you crack open the can and slide out the solid jellied cranberry that you slice up.  Blech!  It’s just what we always had.  I’m not sure why.  It just seemed that nobody in my family thought to make anything else.

I had made some orange cranberry muffins that I really loved and thought about combining those flavors and making a cranberry sauce for Thanksgiving.  After a little bit of research, I found a great recipe that I tried last year and it was a huge hit.  My in-laws especially loved it!

As you can imagine, growing up on canned cranberry, I was never really a fan, but after discovering this delicious chutney, I have really enjoyed fresh cranberries.  It certainly reminds me of Fall with the tartness of the cranberries and earthiness of the clove, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  The flavors compliment each other perfectly and I hope you’ll enjoy this as a side dish for your Thanksgiving table!

Cranberry Chutney

3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 1/2 Tbsp. brown sugar
3/4 cup orange juice (no pulp)
1/4 cup dried apricots, diced
Zest of one orange
6 whole cloves (to be removed later)
1 12 oz. bag fresh cranberries
1 granny smith apple, peeled and chopped
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
3 rocks of crystallized ginger
Pinch nutmeg
1/2 cup pecans, chopped

1)  In a saucepan, combine sugars, orange juice, orange zest, apricots, and cloves.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer and cook for about 3-5 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Remove cloves.
2)  Stir in cranberries and apple.
3)  Simmer for 10-15 minutes more allowing the cranberries to pop open.
4)  Stir in cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg.  Remove from heat.
5)  Add pecans.  Mix well.
6)  Chill at least 4-6 hours or overnight.  Serve chilled.

Recipe adapted from allrecipes.com

