Tags

, , ,

Hey there!  Remember me?  Well – I’m back!!!  And I ‘ve got a fantastic recipe to share with you!  Who doesn’t love dessert and what better way to finish our culinary journey through Italy with a classic and delicious Italian dessert – Cannoli’s. 

My husband and I went to Italy for our honeymoon.  As we all know, I grew up in an Italian family but for my husband – it was a whole new experience after meeting me!  I introduced him to many Italian dishes and traditions that he absolutely loves!!  I remember being in Italy and introducing him for the first time to Prosciutto and fresh Mozzarella cheese.  Every night we went out for dinner that was the first thing he ordered.  He loves it!!  For dessert one evening I ordered a cannoli – you can’t go to Italy and not have a cannoli!!!  I shared some with Rob and of course he was hooked.  It’s now one of his favorite desserts.  In fact, for Christmas he bought me the metal tubes to make the cannoli shells from scratch.  Umm, gee thanks honey!  Seriously though, one of these days I’ll get to using them!!

We did happen to find a phenomenal Italian deli locally here in Las Vegas!  I am frequently at Siena Deli and they sell cannoli shells!!  That works great for me!  I make the filling and just fill up the shells.  Viola!  Instant cannoli’s!!!  YUM and my hubby is in Italian heaven!!

Now I know many recipes call for ricotta cheese in the cannoli mixture and yes, that is a traditional version.  But, I’ve worked through my share of cannoli filling mixtures and have not quite been able to get it thick enough using ricotta cheese – even after days of trying to drain out the water!  So, I decided to try it a different way and I was quite happy with how it turned out!

Cannolis

Cannoli’s

Cannoli Shells (about 1 dozen large or 30 mini)
3 8 oz. tubs mascarpone cheese, softened
2 8 oz. bars cream cheese, softened
Zest of 1 orange
Juice of half an orange
1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 1/2 lbs. powdered sugar, sifted
Mini chocolate chips
Powdered Sugar for dusting

1)  In a large bowl, combine the mascarpone cheese, cream cheese, orange zest, orange juice, and cinnamon.  Mix well.
2)  Slowly add in the powdered sugar until completely incorporated.  If mixture is too thin, add a little more powdered sugar.
3)  Refrigerate until ready to use.
4)  When ready to serve, pipe the mixture into the empty cannoli shells, dip the ends in the mini chocolate chips, and dust with powdered sugar.

*TIP:  Put the mixture into a pastry/piping bag or a Ziploc bag to make it easier to pipe into the cannoli shells*

