Tags

, , ,

Rob’s family recently celebrated his parents’ 45th wedding anniversary.  We threw them a big party on Saturday evening and served lots of delicious food.  Since we weren’t serving a formal dinner, I wanted to include some protein as part of the spread we were having.  We had the typical party appetizers – deviled eggs, veggie tray and ranch dip, fruit salad, but I also got some premade appetizers (yes, I did – don’t judge me!) like “pigs in a blanket,” shrimp cocktail, and some bacon wrapped chicken.  It never seems to be enough for me, so I wanted to add something else.  I happened to find a great recipe for Chicken Parmesan Meatballs and thought they would make a great addition to our cocktail party!

They were a huge hit and I served them with my homemade marinara sauce.  They were absolutely delicious and are now an added staple for future parties!  I hope you’ll enjoy them too!

Chicken Parmesan Bites2

Chicken Parmesan Meatballs

1 1/4 lbs. ground chicken
1/2 cup breadcrumbs
2 Tbsp. chopped onion
1 Tbsp. chopped parsley
1/2 cup shredded Parmesan Cheese
Salt and Pepper to taste
1 clove garlic, minced
1 egg, lightly beaten
Zest of half a lemon
Tomato Sauce as desired for dipping

1)  Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
2)  In a large bowl, combine the ground chicken, breadcrumbs, onion, parsley, parmesan, salt, pepper, garlic, egg and lemon zest. Mix well.
3)  Gently roll the chicken meatballs and place on a greased cookie sheet.
4)  Bake in the oven for 12-14 minutes or until cooked through (to 160 degrees F internal temperature).
5)  Serve with tomato sauce.

Recipe adapted from Daydream Kitchen Food Blog

