Tags

, , ,

I am a HUGE fan of goat cheese.  It is one of my favorite cheeses!  It’s mild, but does have a unique and distinct flavor.  It’s one I never thought I’d ever eat… goat cheese.  Ummm, no.  Then came culinary school and yet another eye opening culinary moment!  I tried it at school and absolutely loved it.  Ever since then, I’ve always had it in my house.  I especially love it on salads, but I have a few other recipes I use it for as well.  I find it to be a very light, mild and refreshing cheese.  It pairs well with many foods including salads, fruits, and even savory dishes.

For my in-law’s anniversary party, I wanted to put out a cheese and crackers platter.  We put together some cubed cheddar cheese, sliced pepperoni, and crackers, but I wanted to offer another cheese spread.  So I decided to create my own goat cheese spread.  It turned out fabulous!!!  Orange and cranberry pair so well together and with the mild taste of the goat cheese it was a great combination!  Spread it on a cracker for a light, flavorful snack or crumble it over your salad.  You could also add some chopped nuts (pecans or walnuts work well for this) for some added texture.

Orange Cranberry Goat Cheese Spread

Orange-Cranberry Goat Cheese Spread

8 oz. goat cheese, softened
1 large orange – Zested and juiced (set aside)
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup chopped pecans or walnuts, if desired
Crackers

1)  In a medium sized bowl, combine the goat cheese, orange zest, and orange juice.  Mix until well combined.
2)  Add the dried cranberries and nuts if desired.  Mix well.
3)  Serve with your choice of crackers

