I know, I know, I know – yes – we all know I’m Italian.  My grandmother was an incredible cook and she used to make the greatest meatballs!!!  Generation to generation she taught my mom and my mom taught me.  I’ve, of course, tweaked it a bit to make it my own and add even more richness and flavor.  Both my grandmother and my mom used water instead of milk to make the meatballs, but I like the added richness milk gives it. 

While I also use pre-seasoned bread crumbs, I always add more seasoning.  Relying on what is in the bread crumbs won’t give your meatballs the depth of flavor that people will oooh and aaahhh over!!  I use the traditional Italian seasonings – garlic, rosemary, thyme, oregano, and basil.  The parmesan cheese gives it a nice saltiness and creaminess.  The combination of all these fabulous ingredients makes these meatballs moist and delicious. 

Serve them with my delicious tomato sauce and you’ve got a spectacular side to any pasta dish!  Or, put them in between some nice soft bread with some mozzarella cheese and you’ve got a phenonmenal meatball hero!  Enjoy!!

Meatballs

Italian Meatballs

1 lb. ground beef
1 cup bread crumbs (I use Italian seasoned bread crumbs)
approx. 2/3 – 1 cup milk
1 egg
Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, dried Rosemary, dried Thyme, dried Oregano, dried Basil
1/2 cup grated Parmesan Cheese

1)  In a large bowl, combine the bread crumbs and some of the milk.  You want to get the bread crumbs soaked with the milk, but so they aren’t too watery.  You may not use all of the milk.
2)  Add the ground beef and egg.  Mix together well.
3)  Add your seasonings to taste – salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, rosemary, thyme, oregano, and basil.  Mix well.
4)  Finally add in the parmesan cheese and mix again thoroughly.
5)  Roll into even sized balls and place on a lightly greased baking sheet.  Bake in the oven for about 8 minutes, then turn the meatballs over and bake another 8-10 minutes.
6)  Remove and let cool.

I store my meatballs in resealable storage bags in the freezer.

