A while back I was involved with The Pampered Chef and sold their products – did the whole “Hostess with the Mostess” thing.  Unfortunately, the demands of a full-time job and a full-time culinary student course load made it difficult to continue doing it, but it did give me the opportunity to get introduced to a number of fantastic products and recipes.

There was one recipe in particular that I thought was great!  It was perfect for a snack, an appetizer, a party food – you name it – and it contained a bunch of ingredients I absolutely loved!!!  So, after trying it and tweaking it (you know I have to do that!), I just love this salsa recipe.  I call it salsa because it’s great with chips or crackers (personally, I love it on Melba Toast).  It has a lot of Italian and Mediteranean flavors that go so well together.  The diced tomatoes absorb the saltiness of the olives and the flavors of the artichoke marinade and the combination is delicious! 

Artichoke Salsa

Tomato-Artichoke Salsa

14 Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced
1 can chopped black olives
2 6.5 oz. jars marinated artichoke hearts, chopped and liquid reserved from one
1 tsp. crushed garlic
Salt and Pepper, to taste
Serve with Melba Toast or Crackers

1)  In a large bowl, combine the tomatoes, olives, artichoke hearts, and garlic.  Mix well.
2)  Add the reserved liquid marinade and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Mix well. 
3)  Chill 1 hour before serving to allow flavors to develop.
4)  Serve with Melba Toast or Crackers

Recipe adapted from The Pampered Chef

