Tags

Over the Summer my husband and I do a lot of grilling and host a lot of gatherings and parties.  As a result, I often find I have lots of hamburger or hot dog buns leftover.  More often than not, they end up in the freezer and I forget they’re there.  So, the next gathering comes along and I buy more buns!  By the end of the Summer, I’m in freezer overload with tons of extra buns.  What to do with them?

Well – with the holidays coming up, I’m already busy preparing numerous Italian dishes that can be easily frozen and many of them use bread crumbs.  So, instead of buying pre-made bread crumbs, I decided to use the extra buns and make my own.  They turned out delicious and it gives me a lot of pride when I make something and use them!  I’m REALLY cooking from scratch these days – and I love it!

Homemade Bread Crumbs

Bread
Salt, Pepper, Onion Powder, Garlic Powder, Dried Oregano, Dried Parsley

1)  Allow the bread to harden over a couple of days.
2)  Create crumbs by crushing the dried/hardened bread.  (You can do it in a food processor or put the bread in Ziploc bags and crush them that way.)
3)  Once the bread is all crumbs, season with salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, oregano, and parsley.
4)  Store in a Ziploc bag and use as needed.

