Tags

, , , ,

Every Christmas I find myself baking and making lots of yummy treats for the holiday season.  I’m always looking for something different to add to my assortment of desserts and I never thought to make Peppermint Bark.  I usually stuck to cookies and cakes.  Confections was something I never really considered – until I met my husband.  Turns out Rob LOVES mint.  I had never known anyone to love mint as much as he does!  So, when I discovered a Peppermint Bark recipe in one of my many food magazines, I decided to give it a try.  Needless to say he loved it – and so did everyone else who tried it.  So, every Christmas season – I make lots of it and it always goes!

It makes a wonderful sweet and minty treat on its own, but it’s great crumbled over vanilla ice cream or baked into cookies for a unique minty twist on a chocolate chip cookie.  However you decided to eat it – you’ll be sure to enjoy it!

Peppermint Bark2

Peppermint Bark

12 candy canes, unwrapped and crushed
3 cups white chocolate chips
1 tsp. peppermint extract

1)  Crush the candy canes until they are very small pieces and mostly crushed.  Set aside.

2)  Line a cookie sheet with wax paper.  (Here’s a hint – spray a little bit of cooking spray on the cookie sheet first before putting down the wax paper.  It will help the wax paper stay in place!)

3)  In a double boiler, melt the white chocolate chips until smooth.  Add the peppermint extract and mix well.  Remove from heat.

4)  Add the crushed candy canes and mix well.

5)  Pour onto the wax paper and spread evenly.  Refrigerate until set – about 15-20 minutes.

6)  Break apart into pieces and store in an air-tight container or Ziploc bag.

Recipe adapted from Paula Deen.

