I know I’m about a month late on a Super Bowl dish, but with four little ones (all under the age of 5) running around… well, need I say more?

Rob and I usually host Super Bowl Sunday each year and I make a nice spread of appetizers, snacks, and treats to munch on throughout the day.  This year, my in-laws decided to host Super Bowl Sunday.  While I love to cook and bake (yes, believe it or not, I find it extremely relaxing), I was actually glad I wasn’t doing the Super Bowl Party this year.  But that didn’t stop me from whipping up a bunch of goodies to bring with us!

Rob and I both planned to have Buffalo Wings for Super Bowl this year so we decided to make them at home and bring them with us to his parents.  They were a big hit too!!

First of all – yes, they are spicy.  But you can control the amount of heat by adjusting the amount of cayenne pepper.  You can use less or none at all.  I do recommend the Frank’s Original Hot Sauce though.  There is nothing that gives a more authentic Buffalo wing sauce taste.  These wings were also baked in the oven so they were a little more healthy since I didn’t fry them.  I also found it to be much easier to bake them on a baking sheet rather than deal with making sure oil was heated correctly and the mess that splashing oil makes when you’re deep frying.  But don’t worry – they were still nice and crispy!

If you like spicy wings – give this recipe a try.  What’s great about it is you can create any kind of sauce to put on the wings once you cook them up.  Go with a sweet and sour or a honey mustard if you don’t like spicy.  If you like traditional spicy wings – then go for it and if you’re really bold – kick up the heat a bit with a little more cayenne!  Rob and I love hot and spicy foods so these were perfect for us!  I hope you’ll enjoy them too!

005

Spicy Chicken Wings

1 pkg. chicken wings
(approx. 1 – 2 dozen wings, cut into pieces for wings and mini-drumsticks)
1 stick butter, melted
1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
1/2-3/4 tsp. ground black pepper
1 tsp. salt
1 bottle Frank’s Hot Sauce (regular sized bottle)
Salt, Pepper, Onion Powder, Garlic Powder
Cooking Spray

1)  Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
2)  Prepare wings to create wings and drumsticks.  Be sure all the chicken is appropriately prepared.  Season the wings with salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder.
3)  Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and lightly spray with cooking spray.
4)  Place the seasoned chicken wings on the prepared baking sheet.  Bake for 45-50 minutes until wings are cooked through and crispy.
5)  Remove cooked wings from oven and toss in the prepared hot sauce mixture.
6)  Serve immediately.

Recipe adapted from bonappetit.com 

