Tags

,

I love artichokes!  Any way you can make them – I love them!!!  My husband, on the other hand, absolutely detests them.  So – it’s one of those vegetables that doesn’t frequently get made in our house since out of 2 adults and 4 children – I’m the only one that eats them!

When I’m not running around chasing after two 4 year olds and two 2 year olds, I love watching Food Network.  I know – big surprise there!  Well, I happened to be watching Giada De Laurentiis and she was making this artichoke gratinata. Of course I had to try it – even if I was going to be the only one to enjoy it!!  I was surprised by some of the ingredients – including Marsala cooking wine, but the flavor and depth that little bit gave to the overall dish was outstanding.  It was rich and full of flavor, but without one particular seasoning being too overwhelming.  The texture of the artichokes with the crunchy browned bread crumbs on top was just amazing!!

I actually decided to make it for a Thanksgiving side-dish – only to find out not only does my husband not like artichokes, but neither does his father.  I guess he comes by it honestly, but that just left more for my mother-in-law and I who pretty much devoured them!  One thing I like about this dish is that it isn’t very difficult to make.  Artichokes can be A LOT of work, but this affords you the opportunity to make a deliciously flavorful dish without having to put in a lot of effort!  And here’s another little hint….  they taste just as good reheated as leftovers! 🙂

Artichoke Gratinata3

Artichoke Gratinata

3 Tbsp. olive oil
1 garlic clove, minced
1 lb. frozen artichoke hearts, thawed (if you can’t find the frozen kind – canned is fine too!)
2 Tbsp. chopped fresh parsley leaves
3/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
1/8 tsp. red pepper flakes
1/2 cup chicken broth
1/4 cup Marsala wine
2 Tbsp. butter
1/3 cup plain bread crumbs
1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese

1)  Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.
2)  Warm the olive oil in a heavy skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute.  Add the artichoke hearts, parsley, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes and cook until the artichokes hearts are starting to brown at the edges (about 3 minutes).  Add the chicken broth and wine and simmer another 3 minutes.  Transfer the artichoke mixture to a 2-quart baking dish.
3)  Melt the butter in the same skillet used to cook the artichokes.  In a small bowl, mix the melted butter with the bread crumbs.  Stir in the parmesan cheese and top the artichokes with the bread crumb/cheese mixture.  Bake until the top is golden brown, about 10 minutes.  Serve immediately.

Recipe by Giada De Laurentiis

