Tags

, , , ,

Hello world!  Knock, knock!  Anyone there?  I know it’s been a while since I’ve been on here and posted a recipe.  My summer has been quite hectic.  As I’ve mentioned in several previous posts, my husband and I are foster parents and up until early June we had 2 sibling groups of 2 children.  That’s 4 kids total – two boys ages 5 and 4 and two girls ages 3 and 2.  One of the sibling groups were reunified with their biological parents which was wonderful to see!  No sooner did we have those two reuniting with their parents, that we were asked to take in a newborn baby girl.  At nine days old, I picked her up from the hospital and for one night we had 5 kiddos in our home.  The other two went home the next day and we’ve had just the 3 ever since.  August was a bit crazy with my 3 year old having a surgical procedure done so that kept us on our toes! She’s a tough cookie and she did great.  But, the greatest news for us was being told we were officially able to adopt two of the three children we have in our care! Needless to say we’ve been busy, hence my delay on posting anything!  But I’m here now with a great recipe – and I’m heading back to my Italian roots!

I had a bunch of bell peppers leftover and didn’t know what to do with them, as well as some zucchini.  Hmmm – what to make???  I also had some tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese ready to go.  Then it dawned on me.  Who doesn’t love anything in tomato sauce and cheese!  I decided to slice the zucchini long ways and roast off the peppers.  I removed the skins and layered the zucchini and peppers together along with some portabella mushrooms and some thinly sliced eggplant.  With some tomato sauce and shredded cheese in between each layer, this was going to be heaven!

I was reluctant because as every mom can relate – my little ones despise vegetables and truthfully my husband isn’t a huge fan either.  But it turned out to be a yummy, delicious, ooey, gooey, cheesy meal that they just couldn’t get enough of!  SCORE!

It’s a take on lasagna with its various layers and if you wanted you could even put some lasagna noodles in between the layers and make it more of a vegetable lasagna than a parmigiana.  Either way – you’ll be sure to love this!  I love that it is such a versatile dish.  You can add or change the veggies to suit your tastes.

Vegetable Parmigiana

Vegetable Parmigiana

2 each – red, yellow, orange bell peppers, cored, halved, and roasted (skins removed)
1 eggplant – peeled and thinly sliced
4-5 zucchini squash, thinly sliced long-ways
1 pkg. sliced mushrooms
Tomato Sauce (recipe here)
2-3 cups shredded Mozzarella Cheese

1)  In a large casserole dish, coat the bottom with some of the tomato sauce.
2)  Layer the parmigiana as follows:  vegetable, tomato sauce, cheese.  Alternate the various veggies as you layer the parmigiana and fill the casserole dish.  Top with more shredded cheese.
3)  Cover with aluminum foil and bake at 350 degrees F for about 1 hour.

