Tags

, , , , ,

I’m not a big breakfast person. On a daily basis I rarely have it – one of my many bad eating habits!  I enjoy it when our family goes out for breakfast or brunch, but I don’t enjoy it on a daily basis.  I often get a hard time because I actually hate – yes hate – bacon. It’s just disgusting to me.  Can you imagine the ridicule I endured in culinary school for disliking it so much?!  Even my Chef Instructors gave me a hard time!  But I digress…

One thing I love and enjoy is French Toast and breakfast sausage.  I order it whenever we go out for breakfast or brunch.  My 5 year old LOVES IHOP so we are often there for a quick, inexpensive dinner, and I usually find myself ordering breakfast (ironic, huh?), and I always get breakfast sausage with either pancakes or French Toast.  I love it. Yum!

I happened to come across a recipe for homemade breakfast sausage and thought – wow I need to make that!  I was so impatient to want to try making it that I decided to use the already defrosted ground turkey I had instead of the ground pork.  Hey – why not try to make it somewhat healthy, right?

So for dinner one night I decided to make French Toast and give this homemade breakfast sausage a try as well.  It turned out great.  Truthfully I was a bit surprised that it tasted like authentic breakfast sausage.  The sage and nutmeg give it that distinct flavor and it was kept moist with the egg white.  Just be sure not to overcook it or you could dry it out.  My husband and kids loved it!

It was also surprisingly easy to make.  I used my mixer to mix it up and a baking scoop to scoop out even amounts.  Shaped them into patties and cooked them off!  Easy and delicious!  I hope you’ll give these a try and enjoy them as well!

French Toast w Sauteed Apples

French Toast (with sauteed apples)

1 loaf of sliced bread (I used whole wheat)
6 eggs, beaten
splash of milk
1/2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1)  Combine the eggs, milk, vanilla, and cinnamon in a shallow container.  Mix well
2)  Dip each slice of bread in the egg mixture and cook in an electric skillet at 350 degrees F for about 1-2 minutes on each side.  (If you don’t have an electric skillet, lightly butter a large skillet over medium-high heat and cook on the stove top.)

Sauteed Apples

2 granny smith apples, thinly sliced
3 Tbsp. butter
1/4 cup brown sugar
Pinch cinnamon
Pinch nutmeg

1)  In a large skillet over medium high heat, melt butter.  Add brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Mix well.
2)  Add the apples and coat well.  Cook 6-7 minutes until apples are tender.
3)  Use as a topping on French Toast (or ice cream!)

Turkey Sausage

Homemade Turkey Breakfast Sausage

1 lb. lean ground pork (I used ground turkey)
1 garlic clove, minced
1 Tbsp. dried sage, crumbled
3/4 tsp. dried thyme
Pinch ground nutmeg
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
1 large egg white
Olive oil

1) In a large bowl (or mixer), combine the ground meat, garlic, sage, thyme, nutmeg, salt and pepper.  Add the egg white and combine thoroughly.  Cover and chill for at least 15 minutes.  (I made mine earlier in the day and let it sit in the fridge about 4-5 hours – when I was ready to cook it.  It worked just fine!)
2) Scoop an even amount of the mixture and shape into patties.
3) Heat the olive oil in a skillet over high heat and cook the sausages on both sides until cooked through and golden brown.  About 4 minutes per side.  Remove from the skillet and place on a plate lined with paper towels (this helps to absorb the excess oil).
4) Serve & Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Homemade Recipes

