Tags

,

I love fresh vegetables and I especially love fresh vegetables sautéed with white wine!  Yes, I cook with wine and sometimes even put it in the food!

Here in Las Vegas there is an organization called Bountiful Baskets.  It’s a food co-op (whatever that is), but you basically pay $15 a week or every other week and you get a basket of various fresh vegetables and a basket of various fresh fruits.  You never know what you’re going to get – which does keep things interesting!  My mother-in-law swears by them and picks up her basket bright and early on Saturday mornings at 7:00 am!  Frankly, after running around all week long after a 5 year old, a 3 1/2 year old, and a 9 month old – I’m freakin’ tired!!!  My wonderful husband lets me sleep in on Saturday mornings – so I don’t always get a Bountiful Basket.  Occasionally, my awesome in-laws will get one for us and this particular basket had a number of red onions and yellow squash.

I decided to use them and make a great sautéed vegetable dish to go along with dinner a couple of nights.  While my husband and I loved it, my kids were less than fond of it!  But that’s okay.  At least they tried it!

I sautéed the onions in a little butter and olive oil and then added the sliced yellow squash.  After letting them cook together for a few minutes – I added a generous splash of white wine which gives the veggies a wonderful flavor!  The richness of the butter and the lightness of the wine make for a delicious vegetable dish!

Red Onions & Yellow Squash2

Sauteed Red Onions & Yellow Squash

1 large red onion, thinly sliced
2-3 large yellow squash, thinly sliced
1/2 tsp. diced garlic
1/3 cup white wine
Salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder
2 Tbsp. Olive oil
1 Tbsp. butter

1)  In a medium sized skillet, heat the olive oil and butter.  Add the garlic and cook the garlic 2-3 minutes.  Add the sliced onions and sautee 5-6 minutes, until the onions are lightly translucent.
2)  Add the sliced yellow squash and stir the mixture well.  Season with salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder.  Add the white wine and continue to cook for another 8-10 minutes stirring occasionally, until the squash are tender.
3)  Serve immediately.

*You can also use zucchini instead of yellow squash or combine the both of them for a delicious and colorful vegetable dish!

 

