Tags

, , , ,

I love pasta.  It’s in my blood – I’m Italian.  My kids and my husband love pasta too, but I always make it the same way – served with tomato sauce.  I was getting bored with pasta the same way all the time and I wanted to do something different.  Every so often Rob and I will get a Bountiful Basket.  It’s a local co-op and each week you can sign up to pick up a basket that contains a variety of fruits and vegetables.  For me the great thing about it is you never know what you’re going to get.  I often find myself with something in the basket that I would never normally pick up at the store.  This is one of the things I love about Bountiful Baskets, it gets my creative juices flowing and I get a chance to come up with some different ideas for dinner!

So, I ended up with a package of grape tomatoes that I didn’t know what to do with, but of course didn’t want them to go bad either.  So, what to do?  I had some chicken and fresh lemons in the fridge and felt like pasta – but didn’t want the traditional, heavy tomato sauce.  So I whipped up a light, refreshing lemon sauce instead.  It was delicious!  And surprisingly enough – my husband and kids liked it too!!  YES – another keeper!

I chose to use penne, but you can easily use spaghetti or angel hair pasta if that’s what you prefer.

I love how light this sauce is.  It’s just enough to keep the dish moist without being overwhelming.  There is a freshness from the lemons that makes it just perfect!

Lemon Chicken & Pasta

472f4fa0d593db292f2cac5d9e01ee2b

Olive oil as needed
1 onion, diced
1 tsp. minced garlic
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup white wine
Zest of 1 lemon
1 1/2 – 2 cups chicken stock
Slurry mixture (about 1/4 cup water and 2 Tbsp. corn starch)
4 Chicken Breasts, fully cooked (I poached mine in chicken stock)
1 lb. pasta (penne, spaghetti, etc.) fully cooked
1 pkg. grape tomatoes, halved
Salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder.
Parsley, if desired

  1. In a large, deep skillet, over medium heat cook the onion and garlic in a little bit of olive oil until the onion is translucent.
  2. Add the lemon juice, white wine, chicken stock and lemon zest.  Add about half the slurry mixture. Mix well and allow to heat through.  The sauce will thicken as it heats.  Add the chicken and pasta and season well with the salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder.  Mix well.
  3. Add the tomatoes and adjust the sauce as needed adding more chicken stock and/or lemon juice to adjust to your taste and thickness.  Cook until the tomatoes are slightly softened.
  4. Sprinkle with some chopped parsley, if desired before serving.

Enjoy!

 

