Tags

, ,

A couple of months ago I actually had some time alone!  Whoo hoo!!!  As a mom of three kids ages 6 and under, this is a big deal!  I’m constantly running and chasing after my almost 2 year old, getting my 4 and 6 year old to their respective schools, appointments, activities, getting homework done, laundry, house cleaning, dishes, meals, etc., etc., etc.  It.  Never.  Ends.

I digress.  Seriously, though.  I was craving something really ooey, gooey, and fudgy. Some really delicious fudge brownies would be perfect, but I didn’t have all of the necessary ingredients to make them and I didn’t feel like running out to the store.  So, the search online for another recipe began.  I ended up coming across this recipe for chocolate fudge cookies that seemed perfect.  I had just about all of the ingredients so I decided to give them a shot.  I substituted white chocolate chips for the milk chocolate chips since I didn’t have any.  But they still turned out great.

They turned out to be fabulous.  They were very fudgy and chocolatey.  They still baked up more cake-like, but I think the trick would be to shorten the baking time just a little bit to keep those centers really gooey.   For all of you chocoholics out there, this cookie is definitely for you!!  Enjoy!

Chocolate Fudge White Chip Cookies

Chocolate Fudge White Chip Cookies

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 Tbsp. unsalted butter
1 cup + 3 Tbsp. AP flour
3 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup + 2 Tbsp. packed brown sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
2 Tbsp. whole milk
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 cup white chocolate chips (the original recipe calls for 1 cup milk chocolate chips, but I didn’t have any.  You can use whichever you prefer.)

  1.  Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  Line two large baking sheets with parchment paper.  Lightly spray with non-stick cooking spray and set aside.
  2. Place the semi-sweet chocolate chips and butter in a small bowl.  Microwave in increments of 15 seconds and then mix until the mixture is combined and the butter is completely melted.  (I did this over a double boiler instead by placing a heat safe bowl over a pot of boiling water allowing the butter and chocolate to melt and combine together.)  Set aside.
  3. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt.  Set aside.
  4. In another medium-sized bowl, combine sugars, eggs, milk, and vanilla.  Whisk together.
  5. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir to combine.  Do not overmix.
  6. Fold in the melted chocolate/butter mixture and stir until combined.
  7. Scoop the mixture onto the prepared baking sheets.  Place the pans in the oven. Reduce the heat to 300 degrees F and bake for 18-20 minutes.  Allow cookies to cool completely before serving.

Recipe adapted from http://www.bakerbynature.com.

