Tags

, , , ,

I have always loved hosting events at my home.  Whether it was a simple dinner with a couple of friends to an elaborate event celebration.  I’ve enjoyed this since I was a little kid!  It was always fun having people come over to visit!!  My mother, on the other hand, didn’t like it as much as I did.  She seemed to focus more on the unpleasant things associated with having people come over – make sure the house was clean, buy the necessary supplies (paper plates, utensils, cups, soda, etc.), buy the food, prepare the food, etc.  My mom was not big on cooking.  My dad always used to joke that my mother’s idea of dinner was reservations.  As I got older, I was able to help out more and I think my mom did it more for me since she saw how much joy I got out of it.

Well, the tradition of hosting continues to live on strong in my home.  My husband and I love hosting parties, get togethers, dinners, events, holidays – you name it.  Pretty much everything happens at our house and I love it!  I wish my mom and dad could be here to be part of all of the celebrations and gatherings, but I know they are with me in spirit.

Just recently, we celebrated the Baptism of our three children.  Jesse, Tatum, and Julia were Baptized at our church and then we celebrated with a party at our house.  We enjoyed the company of family and friends as well as some great food and desserts.  It was a great day, but it certainly didn’t come without planning!  My dear friend, Darci, helped me out a few months ago and we prepared a number of dishes in advance.  My son wanted lasagna, so we made lasagna!  We also made meatballs, eggplant parmigiana, sausage and peppers, chicken cutlets, and chicken piccata.  All of which freeze wonderfully!  I took them out a few days in advance of the party to let them defrost and then baked them off in the oven before the party.

Then it was dessert.  My son wanted chocolate cake, I wanted vanilla cake, my daughter wanted lemon cake.  So many to make!  I decided to do one of each and some cookies!  My cousins were coming in from out of state and I wanted to spend as much time with them as possible – not spending so much time baking and decorating cakes.  So I prepared and pre-measured my ingredients in advance.

I simply measured out all of my dry ingredients for the cookies and wrote the recipe on the front of a Ziploc bag with a Sharpie marker.  Then all I had to do was add my wet ingredients, mix, and bake off the cookies.  I also premeasured the powdered sugar I needed for my buttercream and make that in advance as well.  It was such a huge time-saver and I got to enjoy so much more time with my family!  It was wonderful!

So that’s my tip!  Organize in advance and you’ll save time in the end!  Enjoy your party with these time saving tips!!  (And don’t worry, these delicious chocolate fudge cookies will have a posted recipe on this blog shortly!)

Organize Organize2 Organize3

