Tags

, , , ,

Carrot Cake.   It’s popular.  It’s my husband’s favorite cake.  But I hate it.  Most are generally moist and full of flavor, but I just never acquired a liking to it.  So, because I don’t like it, I never make it for my husband.

We were hosting a Father’s Day barbecue for Rob and his parents were also coming over to celebrate with the family.  I couldn’t decide what to do for dessert.   I was perusing through websites and blogs and happened to come across this recipe for Carrot Cake Cookie Sandwiches.  I wouldn’t have a lot of cake leftover and the cookies would probably go faster than the cake!  Plus the kids may even like them.  So I decided to give them a try.  They turned out fantastic and were a big hit.  I did not personally taste them so I can’t really describe the taste to you.  But my husband loved them and my kids did too.  With a delicious cream cheese frosting, these cookies were a huge success!

If you like Carrot Cake, I’m sure you’ll enjoy these as well! 🙂

Carrot Cake Cookie Sandwiches

Carrot Cake Cookie Sandwiches2

Carrot Cake Cookie Sandwiches

Makes about 10 cookie sandwiches

1/2 cup butter, melted
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2/3 cup finely grated carrots
1/4 cup applesauce
1 1/2 cups AP flour
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 cup old fashioned quick oats
1/2 cup raisins (if desired)

Recipe courtesy of TodaysMama.com

Cream Cheese Frosting

1 stick butter, softened
1 8 oz. pkg. cream cheese, softened
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
2 cups powdered sugar

Recipe courtesy of Paula Deen

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the melted butter, brown sugar, granulated sugar, and vanilla until smooth.  Gently stir in the carrots and applesauce.
  3. Add the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon into the wet ingredients.  Stir gently until combined.
  4. Form dough into uniform balls (I use a medium size cookie scoop – about 1 – 1 1/2 Tbsp. of dough for each cookie).  Place on parchment lined cookie sheet.
  5. Bake at 350 degrees F for about 10-12 minutes.  Remove from oven and let cool completely.
  6. To make the frosting, use a hand mixer or stand mixer to combine the softened cream cheese, butter, and vanilla extract.  When combined, add the powdered sugar and mix well.
  7. Spread cream cheese frosting between two cooled cookies and press together to make sandwich cookies.  Repeat with the remaining cookies.  Refrigerate or freeze in an air tight container.  (I store mine in Ziploc freezer bags in the refrigerator.  They don’t last long enough to go into the freezer!)

Enjoy!

Recipe from todaysmama.com

