Tags

, ,

I have never been a fan of Mexican food.  Neither of my parents cooked Mexican food when I was a kid and we never went to Mexican restaurants as a family either.  So, it was something I never really ate.  When I was finally introduced to Mexican food, I wasn’t really crazy about it, and truthfully I’m still not.  There are a few things I like, but I keep it pretty simple.  My husband, on the other hand, grew up eating a lot of Mexican food and he loves it all!!

I was watching an episode of The Pioneer Woman on Food Network and she was making her Slow Cooker Mexican Chicken Soup.  I was intrigued.  Most of the ingredients she used I liked so I thought this might be a good Mexican recipe to try! That was until she added black beans.  If there is one thing I really don’t like, it’s black beans.  Ugh.  So, as I normally do – I took the recipe and made my own version!  It was a huge hit in my family.  My husband really enjoyed it and my in-laws loved it too.  It wasn’t very spicy – which can be modified.  You can add more spice if you like things spicy.  It turned out to be a very hearty and robust soup.  A perfect meal for a cold, rainy day.

So, here is my version….

 

mexican-chicken-soup

mexican-chicken-soup-bowl2

mexican-chicken-soup-bowl

 

Mexican Chicken Soup

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. ground cumin
Salt and Pepper, to taste
1 onion, chopped
1 each red, green, yellow, and orange bell peppers, chopped
1 can (28 oz.) whole or diced tomatoes, with juice
1 can (10 oz.) diced tomatoes with chipotles, with juice
1 can (6.5 oz) tomato paste
1 can (15 oz.) whole kernal corn, drained
1 lime, juiced
3 cups chicken broth

If you like it more on the spicy side, feel free to add a chipotle chili pepper in adobo (with stem and seeds removed).  You can also add some chipotle chili powder as well to increase the heat if you prefer.

Fixin’s:  Tortilla Strips, Guacamole, Sour Cream, Shredded Cheese, Diced Onion, Chopped Cilantro

1.)  In a large slow cooker, place the chicken breasts on the bottom.  Add chili powder, cumin, salt, and pepper.
2.)  Add the tomatoes, tomato paste, corn, lime juice, and chicken broth.
3.)  Cover and cook on high for 5 hours or low for 8 hours.
4.)  When timer is done, remove chicken breasts to a separate plate and shred using two forks.  Return shredded chicken to the soup and mix in.
5.)  Serve with various “fixin’s.”  Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from The Pioneer Woman – Ree Drummond

