Tags

, , , ,

When I was growing up my family and I would visit my grandparents every Sunday.  It was an Italian tradition to spend Sundays with Grandma and Grandpa.  And Grandma would always make some amazing Italian dinner followed by some form of dessert.  After the meal was eaten and the dishes were cleared and cleaned (my Grandma didn’t have a dishwasher), the classic Farberware percolator coffee pot would get prepped and plugged in and dessert would be ready for the table.  On some occasions, we would bring dessert, and other times my Grandmother would make something.  One of the things she would make was a delicious “cake” layered with graham crackers, chocolate pudding, and vanilla pudding.  O.  M.  G.  It.  Was.  Amazing.  She used to call it Icebox Cake.  I don’t know why, but that was her name for it.  It was a perfect combination of deliciousness!  The creaminess from the pudding and the soft crunch of the graham crackers gave it a really nice contrast in texture.

Fast forward to married life and motherhood.  We were hosting a party for Fourth of July a few years ago and I wanted to do something different for dessert.  My Grandmother’s Icebox Cake came to mind and I decided to go with that.  I made a huge tin of it and it was gone before the end of the day!!!!  It was an immediate hit and now a favorite among our family.

We were hosting a party for Super Bowl Sunday a couple of weeks ago and I wanted to do something different for dessert.  My husband mentioned Icebox Cake!  YES!  And again, it was an instant hit and was gone by the end of the night!  Which I guess is a good thing – so I don’t eat the leftovers!

icebox-cake2 icebox-cake1 icebox-cake3 icebox-cake4 icebox-cake5

Icebox Cake

1 large package instant vanilla pudding
1 large package instant chocolate pudding
2 small containers Cool Whip
20-25 Graham Crackers

1.  In a medium bowl, make the vanilla pudding according to package directions for pie.  Let set. Add half of one of the containers of Cool Whip.  Mix well.  Chill for about 20 minutes.
2.  In a separate bowl, make the chocolate pudding according to the package directions for pie.  Let set.  Add the remaining half of the container of Cool Whip.  Mix well.  Chill for about 20 minutes.
3.  In a deep dish or tin, place one layer of graham crackers.  On top of the graham crackers, spoon over enough chocolate pudding to cover the graham crackers in a thick layer.  Add another layer of graham crackers.  Spoon over the vanilla pudding in another thick layer.  Continue layering in the same manner until the dish is full.  The final layer should be the Cool Whip.  Use as much or as little as you’d like to top off your “cake.”
4.  Chill for about 2 hours to allow pudding to set.

This “cake” is best prepared and served the same day.  Overnight, the graham crackers can become mushy from sitting in the pudding too long.  But trust me, once you serve this “cake” you probably won’t have to worry about that!  ENJOY! 🙂

