Tags

, , , ,

Margarita Pie.  Yes.  You read that correctly.  MARGARITA pie.  What to say about it… it’s like eating a frozen margarita.  WARNING:  A little too much of this pie could lead to a margarita buzz!

In all seriousness, I was looking for something light and refreshing for Easter dessert.  I hadn’t made my Margarita Pie in a long time and I thought it would be a nice treat for the adults, along with my Icebox Cake for the kids.   Plus, who doesn’t love a margarita? My mother-in-law LOVES them (me too) so I knew she’d enjoy it and I thought it would be a nice twist.

I first found this recipe about 12 years ago.  I was looking for a different Summer dessert recipe to bring to a family barbecue and I happened to come across this recipe.  I love margaritas so why not, right?  Any dessert with alcohol in it HAS to be good, right? So, I decided to give it a try.  It was incredible.  After tasting one bite, I really didn’t want to share the rest!  It was sooooo good!!!  It uses sweetened condensed milk, which creates a sweet, creamy base and alcohol you would typically use in a margarita – Triple Sec (an orange flavored liquor) and Tequila (well – you know – it’s Tequila!)  Along with some lime juice, this combination is outstanding.  Some added whipped topping gives it some lightness and fluffiness – and it’s like a margarita mousse!  I added a couple of drops of green food coloring to give it a light green color – similar to that of a margarita.

If you like margaritas – on the rocks, no salt – like me or frozen like my husband and his mom – this dessert is definitely for you.  The only thing to keep in mind is that with this dessert you do use alcohol and since it is a no-bake dessert, the alcohol does not burn off or cook out.  So, be careful how much you eat – because it can give you a buzz!

Margarita Pie

1 9″ graham cracker crust (I buy the pre-made kind)
1 14 oz. can sweetened condensed milk
1/4 cup, plus 1 Tbsp. lime juice
1/4 cup Tequila (I use Jose Cuervo)
5 Tbsp. Triple Sec
1 16 oz. container Cool Whip
Green food coloring (2-3 drops)
Whipped Cream for Garnish

  1.  In a large bowl, combine sweetened condensed milk, lime juice, Tequila, and Triple Sec.  Whisk together until well blended.
  2. Add food coloring and mix until the color is evenly incorporated and there are no streaks.
  3. Fold in Cool Whip until mixed well.
  4. Pour into prepared crust.
  5. Freeze 6-8 hours or overnight.  Keep frozen until ready to serve.

Recipe adapted from allrecipes.com

 

 

